Travel Destinations Where Canadians Don’t Require a Visa

As travellers, we don’t realize how lucky we are to have the Canadian citizenship. Holding a Canadian passport opens up many borders. Your passport acts as your “Open Sesame!” formula for your adventures around the globe. Canadians can visit a total of 101 countries without requiring a visa. This comes to no surprises since the Canadian passport ranks in the top 5 most powerful passports in the world.

The Canadian Passport Is the “Coolest” in the World

National patriotism aside, the new Canadian passport, launched in 2015, has made a name for itself when compared to all the other countries’ travel document. At first glance, under the natural light, it might look pretty unoriginal. However, sharing the chameleon’s ability to change shades rapidly, it bursts with fluorescent colours when you hold it under a black light. You will witness a spectacle of fireworks, stars, a full moon, maple leaves and many more elements illustrating the history of Canada. It’s not so ordinary anymore! Above all, your passport will let you travel … and explore over half of the world visa-free.

With your beloved passport, you are allowed to visit all of the following countries without requiring a visa upon arrival:

North America

Vast open spaces, unique to our neck of the woods, are ideal for road trips! For a stay of up to six months, you won’t need a visa to visit the US. This should give you ample time to explore, from the breathtaking national parks of the West to the iconic metropolis of the East Coast. Same goes for Mexico, where you get 180 days without a visa to travel the country.

The Caribbean

Only a three to four-hour flight from Canada, the Caribbean Islands are the perfect escapade to work on your tan at a white-sand beach, dive in crystal-clear water and party the night away. Without a visa, you can go to: Antigua and Barbuda (1 month), the Bahamas (8 months), Barbados (6 months), Haiti (3 months), Dominica (6 months), Saint Martin (90 days), Jamaica (6 months), Grenada (3 months), Saint Kitts and Nevis (6 months), Saint Vincent & the Grenadines (1 month), Saint Lucia (6 weeks) as well as Trinidad and Tobago (90 days). To soak in the sun of the Dominican Republic, you won’t need a visa, but upon arrival, you will have to obtain a $10 US tourist card valid for 90 days.

Latin America

Sexy Latin dances, beaches stretching as far as the eye can see, snow-capped mountains, lush rainforest and even glaciers… Latin America is packed with adventures that won’t leave you bored. In Central America, you can visit without a visa: Belize (30 days), Costa Rica (90 days), Guatemala (90 days), Honduras (3 months), Nicaragua (90 days), Panama (180 days) and El Salvador (3 months).

In South America, the countries you can visit without a visa are: Argentina (90 days, but reciprocity fees may apply before entering the country), Bolivia (90 days), Chile (90 days), Ecuador (90 days), Guyana (3 months), Uruguay (3 months), Venezuela (90 days) and Peru (183 days).


Searching for the best combination of delicious food, history and cultural diversity? Look no further and head straight to Europe. Within a few hours’ drive you can find yourself in another country, with a new spoken language and different customs.

It is possible to enter the Schengen zone without a visa for a maximum of 90 days during a 180 days’ period. The 26 countries of the Schengen zone are: Austria, Belgium, Czech Republic, Denmark, Estonia, Finland, France, Germany, Greece, Hungary, Iceland, Italy, Latvia, Liechtenstein, Lithuania, Luxembourg, Malta, Netherlands, Norway, Poland, Portugal, Slovakia, Slovenia, Spain, Sweden and Switzerland.

You can also travel without a visa to Albania (90 days), Montenegro (90 days), Macedonia (90 days), Moldova (90 days), Monaco (90 days), Croatia (90 days), Ireland (90 days), Serbia (90 days) and United Kingdom (6 months).

Some countries such as Cyprus, Bosnia and Herzegovina, Bulgaria, Romania and Ukraine will let you enter for 90 days without a visa during a 180 days’ period.

San Marino, one of the smallest countries in the world, welcomes Canadians for a period of 10 days without a visa. Belarus doesn’t require a visa for Canadian travellers.


An interesting mix of tradition and modernity, Asia attracts more and more Canadian tourists. The countries which don’t require a visa are: Indonesia (30 days), Japan (90 days), Malaysia (3 months), Philippines (30 days), Brunei (14 days), Singapore (30 days), Thailand (30 days), Georgia (365 days), Israel (3 months), Kazakhstan (30 days), South Korea (6 months), Kyrgyz Republic (60 days) and Mongolia (30 days).


Travelling through Africa is not a holiday … it’s an adventure! Africa, part wild and part modern, will seduce you with its intensity, its cultural diversity, its animal kingdom and its natural treasures. Without a visa, you can explore Morocco (3 months), Tunisia (4 months), South Africa (90 days), Lesotho (14 days), Swaziland (30 days), Botswana (90 days), Namibia (3 months), The Gambia (90 days), Mauritius (90 days), São Tomé and Principe (15 days) and Senegal (90 days).


You dream of a place where you can stop time to enjoy life to the fullest? You won’t be able to resist the magnificence of the Pacific Ocean, home to some of the most beautiful archipelago in the world. Coconut trees and the sweet melody of the ukulele will make you fall in love with the blissfulness of the Pacific Islands. You can stay, without a visa, in Fiji (4 months), Kiribati (30 days), Micronesia (30 days), New Zealand (90 days), Vanuatu (30 days), New Caledonia (90 days) and French Polynesia (90 days).

What About the Other Countries?

As a Canadian, there are many other countries which we have not listed, that can still be explored. You just need to make some research prior to your departure to make sure that you apply for the necessary visa or that you have all the documents required to get it on arrival. In any case, here are a few things to keep in mind:

To Validate Before Your Trip

Regardless of the destination you choose, remember that, as a general rule, your passport must be valid for no less than six months after your departure date. Additionally, you will need to make sure you have at least two empty pages left in your passport for stamps or visas. Some countries might also ask for a proof of onward travel, like a return ticket if you are flying. In some cases, it can be required that you show proof of sufficient funds.

To Remember Before Leaving the Country

Once you’ve discovered every hidden gem of a country and been on countless adventures, you need to prepare your exit strategy. Some countries require you to pay an airport tax or a departure tax. Occasionally, this tax will be included in the price of your flight but in other cases, it is advisable to keep a few extra dollars in order to pay for it when you leave. You can never be too prepared!

To make your life easier, consult the most up-to-date information on the country you plan to visit from the Government of Canada website: (entry/exit requirements).

Article by Nomad Junkies team